Who was the first Indian to win the Pritzker Prize?

Who was the first Indian to win the Pritzker Prize?

Doshi, Balkrishna Balkrishna Doshi, an Indian architect and renowned urban planner, was chosen the Pritzker Prize winner this year for his ability to understand architecture and adapt it into buildings that respect Eastern culture. He was the first Indian to get the highest honor in architecture.

Balkrishna Doshi was born on May 4, 1919 in Nagpur, India. He studied architecture at the Bombay University from 1940 to 1943 and then moved to New York City where he worked as an assistant architect with Walter Gropius until 1946. In 1947, he founded the architecture firm Balkrishna Doshi & Associates in Mumbai (then called Bombay). Over the next four decades, he became one of India's most important architects, designing many public and private buildings including schools, hospitals, museums, and commercial complexes. His work focused on using traditional building materials like stone and wood, but also included concrete and glass.

In 1964, Doshi received the Royal Institute of British Architects' Gold Medal and three years later was elected president of the International Council of Architectural Organisations (ICAAO). He held both posts until 1969 when he became a member of the ICAAO's executive committee. In 1978, Doshi was appointed chairman of the Architecture Committee of the Government of Maharashtra and two years later was given the Padma Bhushan award by the government for his contributions to architecture.

What is the Pritzker Prize and what is its purpose?

The Pritzker Architecture Prize was established to recognize a living architect or architects whose constructed work exemplifies a combination of talent, vision, and devotion, and has made continuous and substantial contributions to mankind and the built environment via the art of architecture. The prize is named after Chicago-based entrepreneur and arts patron M. Mitchell Pritzker.

The goal of the prize is to promote new ideas in architecture and to be a catalyst for change by awarding one or more prizes each year. The award ceremony is held in Chicago at the end of November each year.

Since its creation, the prize has been awarded to eleven individuals. Eight of these people were also included in the inaugural issue of The Pritzker Architectural Magazine. The other three have been added since then: Zaha Hadid in 2008, Jean Nouvel in 2009, and Peter Zumthor in 2010. The winner is selected by an international committee of architects and journalists formed by the family who fund the prize. The committee meets once per year in person or by video conference to make their decision.

In addition to the prize money of $100,000, winners receive a commemorative medal designed by Renzo Piano and a trophy created by New York-based artist Jess Hoberman.

Who gives the Pritzker Prize?

The Pritzker family of Chicago founded the worldwide prize, which is granted each year to a living architect or architects for noteworthy achievement, through their Hyatt Foundation in 1979. It is given out once a year and is known as "architecture's Nobel" and "the profession's highest accolade." The award includes $150,000 and acceptance into an annual lecture series.

The family who owns Hyatt Hotels also owns WBEZ, an American public radio station that broadcasts from Chicago. They also have interests in residential real estate and retail shopping centers. In addition, they support arts organizations and educational institutions that involve Hyatt hotels in their projects. The family is active in philanthropy; according to Forbes, they are the third most generous family foundation in America.

The Pritzker family has said that they established the prize to "encourage discussion of architecture as a creative discipline and as a means of expressing social responsibility." They wanted to give recognition to young architects as well so that they could be inspired by these men and women just as they had been.

Of the 16 people who have won the prize up until now, five are European: Richard Rogers, Antoine Predock, Renzo Piano, Zaha Hadid, and Christian de Portzamparc.

Who was the first Indian to be awarded?

The first Indians to get worldwide honors

International Awards – Indian Recipients
1st Indian to be awarded the Nobel prize in any field (literature)Rabindranath Tagore
1st Indian to be featured as the Person of the Year by Time magazineMahatma Gandhi (1930)

Who was the first Indian to get the Nobel Prize?

Rabindranath Tagore received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1913 for his collection of poems Gitanjali. Rabindranath Tagore, India's first Nobel laureate, was born on May 7, 1861, in Kolkata. He was a poet, playwright, and musician who introduced Western music into India. The Nobel Committee cited his work as being "a vital force for good in the world today", calling him "the greatest living poet from India".

He was awarded the prize during a time when there were only seven people who had been given the Nobel Peace Prize - five men and two women. Rabindranath Tagore was the sixth person to receive the Nobel Prize and the first Asian man to do so.

The committee said he was chosen because of his "poems that with deep feeling and clear imagination explore the soul of India and of other nations too".

They added: "His poems are exquisite songs of love and sorrow, faith and freedom. They express the deepest feelings of mankind. By their subtlety and their universality they have become standards in our language."

Rabindranath Tagore was married four times and had six children. One of his sons, Abhedananda, became a monk and was later ordained as a priest.

About Article Author

Marcia Tripp

Marcia Tripp is someone who loves to create. She has a background in fashion and is now exploring other creative fields like illustration and design. Her favorite thing to do is find ways to incorporate her love of fashion into her work as an artist so that it always looks fresh and innovative.

Related posts