Who got the Njanapeedam award in 2015?

Who got the Njanapeedam award in 2015?

Raghuveer Chaudhary, a renowned Gujarati author, has been chosen for the coveted Jnanpith Award for 2015. The Government of Gujarat has announced his selection for the award, which is given annually by the President of India to people who have made significant contributions to the development of literature or the arts in India.

Chaudhary was born on 2 October 1938 in Rajkot, Gujarat. He graduated from St. Xavier's College, Mumbai and went on to earn M.A. and Ph. D degrees from Mumbai University. After teaching at several colleges in Maharashtra for several years, he now lives in Delhi with his family.

His first collection of poems was published in 1963 when he was only 21 years old. Since then, he has gone on to publish more than 20 books of poetry collections as well as write novels and essays. His works focus mainly on social issues such as poverty, unemployment, female oppression, and war.

He has received many awards throughout his career for his work including the Vyas Samman in 2000, the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship in 2004, and the Padma Bhushan in 2014.

Who was awarded the prestigious Jnanpith award in the year 2016?

At a ceremony at the India Habitat Centre on Wednesday, bestselling author and leading contemporary English writer, Amitav Ghosh, was awarded the 54th Jnanpith Award for his contribution to the enrichment of Indian literature in English. The other recipients are poet, editor, and scholar V.S. Naipaul and activist and former president of the International Court of Justice, the first woman to hold that position.

Ghosh, who is known for his historical novels set in various parts of the world including Ancient Rome, Persia, and East Asia, has been widely praised for his writing style which is characterized by its clarity and simplicity. He has also been lauded for promoting greater understanding between people from different cultural backgrounds through his works.

Ghosh was born on January 4, 1955 in Calcutta (now Kolkata). He completed his graduate studies in English at St. John's College, Cambridge before going on to receive a PhD in Literature from the University of Oxford. He then took up a post-doctoral research fellowship at King's College London where he is now Professor of History and International Relations.

He is also the co-founder and chairman of Creative Writing Program at the Institute of Advanced Study in Bangalore. Prior to this, he had served as professor of English at several universities including Boston University, New York University, and Duke University.

Who won the Jnanpith award in Karnataka?

Jnanapeeta Award Recipients' Profiles

Sl No.NameWork
1.Shri. KuvempuShri Ramayana Darshanam
2.Shri. Da. Ra.BendreNaakutanti
3.Shri. Shivaram KaranthMookajjiya Kanasugalu
4.Shri. Maasti Venkatesh IyengarA Comprehensive Contribution to Kannada Literature. Special Reference: – Chikkaveera Rajendra (Scripture)

When did Kuvempu get the Jnanpith award?

Jnanapeeta Award Recipients' Profiles

Sl No.NameYear
1.Shri. Kuvempu1967
2.Shri. Da. Ra.Bendre1973
3.Shri. Shivaram Karanth1977
4.Shri. Maasti Venkatesh Iyengar1983

Who got the Jnanpith Award in 2021?

Namboothiri, Akkitham Achuthan Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri, a famous Malayalam poet, has been chosen for the 55th Jnanpith Award for his remarkable contribution to the Malayalam language and poetry. He will receive the award on January 9, 2021, at a ceremony held in New Delhi.

Namboothiri was born on August 25, 1938, in Thiruvalla district of Kerala state. He graduated from Maharaja's College, University of Calcutta, with a B.A. degree in Malayalam in 1960. Later he obtained an M.A. degree from the same university in 1964. He is currently working as a professor of English at Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam.

He is well known for his poems that discuss social issues such as poverty, unemployment, violence, and injustice. His poems have been translated into many languages including French, Hindi, Tamil, and Telugu.

Who got the Gyanpeeth award?

In 2019, novelist Amitav Ghosh received the 54th Jnanpith Award. He was the first English-language writer to get the Jnanpith Prize. Ghosh won for his efforts towards "reconciliation of India and Bangladesh by amity rather than by force".

Ghosh is a former professor of English at Delhi University and has written several books on history, including The Great Derangement: How India Became a Coolidge Maniac and We Are All Here Now: My Journey in a New England Town.

He has also written a novel titled In an Antique Land which is based on the life of Indian poet Maithili Sharan Gupte. The book won the 1997 Commonwealth Book Prize.

Gupta was born on March 2, 1945 in Nagpur, Maharashtra. She was known for her poems that focused on women's issues as well as her efforts for the preservation of ancient monuments. She died in Mumbai (then Bombay) on May 21, 1998 due to liver cancer.

Ghosh said he was "deeply moved" by Gupta's life story and decided to write a novel about her. He began writing the book in 1996 but didn't finish it until two years later. The book was published in 1998 by Penguin Books India.

Who got the Njanapeedam award in Kerala?

The Bharatiya Jnanpith Award comes with a bronze sculpture of Goddess Saraswati, a plaque, and a Rs 11 lakh cheque. List of Jnanpith Award Recipients (1965-2019)

YearJnanpith Award winnersLanguage
2017Krishna SobtiHindi
2018Amitav GhoshEnglish
2019Akkitham Achuthan NamboothiriMalayalam

When did Sankara Kurup win the Jnanpith Award?

To celebrate his Jnanpith Award, famous poet G. Sankara Kurup established an award in 1969. The award is granted to Malayalam literary works, and the prize money is Rs. 10,000. It is administered by the Kerala Sahitya Akademi.

Sankara Kurup was selected as the first recipient of the award. The award ceremony was held on January 18, 1970. Other recipients include K. V. Narayana Panicker (1970), P. T. Kunju Muhammed (1971), Adoor Gopalakrishnan (1972), Bharathiyar (1973), M. Govinda Pillai (1974), Thakazhi Sivasankara Pillai (1975), Kumaran Asan (1976), Ulloor S. Parameswara Iyer (1977), Kalamandalam Subramanian Sharma (1978), Kaviyoor Ponnamma (1979), Kuttichathan G. Radhakrishnan (1980), K. R. Ramanujan (1981), Pattom A. Pushkaran (1982), K. Santhosh Kumar (1983), K. Madhavan Kutty (1984), K. P. Ummer (1985), M. N. Krishnan (1986), K. Balachander (1987), K. Hariharan (1988), K. R. Mohanan (1989), K.

About Article Author

Judy Walker

Judy Walker's passion is to create beautiful things with words. She loves writing poetry, short stories, and novels. Judy's favorite subjects to write about are love, loss, and fighting for what she believes in.

Related posts