How many people got Jnanpith Awards in Kerala?

How many people got Jnanpith Awards in Kerala?

Following that, the Jnanpith Award was given to S.K. Pottakkad (1980), Takashi Sivasankarappilla (1984), MT Vasudevan Nair (1995), ONV. Kurup (2007), and Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri (2019) for their achievements to Malayalam literature. Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri last received the prize in 2019. He is currently the only person to have received this award more than once.

As of 2020, the total number of recipients of the Jnanpith Award is 80. Of these, 58 are men and 22 are women. Thakazhi Sivanandan has been the most awarded author with 10 prizes. Other prominent authors who have received multiple awards include O. V. Vijayan, Manjari Venkatachalaiah, Kaloor Padmanabhan, K. S. Sethumadhavan, and Ulloor S. Parameswara Sharma.

Kerala has had a significant presence on the world stage of literature since the inception of the Jnanpith Award in 1978. Today, it is ranked third among Indian states by publication volume in English. In fact, Kerala has been the leading publisher of books in India since the 1990s.

Since its establishment, the Jnanpith Award has been considered a great honor for writers in Kerala. Many winners have gone on to become famous authors themselves - many of whom have received multiple awards.

Who got the first Jnanpith award in Hindi?

The Bharatiya Jnanpith Prize is the oldest and highest Indian literary award, granted yearly to an author for their "great contribution to literature"...

Jnanpith Award
Most recent winnerAkkitham Achuthan Namboothiri
Total awarded60
First winnerG. Sankara Kurup

Who got the Jnanpith Award in 2021?

Namboothiri, Akkitham Achuthan Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri, a famous Malayalam poet, has been chosen for the 55th Jnanpith Award for his remarkable contribution to the Malayalam language and poetry. He will receive the award on January 19, 2021, at a ceremony held in New Delhi.

Namboothiri was born on August 21, 1933, in Thiruvalla district of Kerala state. He graduated from Maharaja's College, University of Calcutta, and then went on to study law at the Government Law College, Thiruvananthapuram. However, he never practiced law; instead he started writing poems and novels at an early age. His first collection of poems was released when he was only twenty-one years old. Since then he has gone on to become one of the most celebrated poets in India, being equally known by his pen name, Vayalar Ramavarma.

He is also well-known for his novels, including Parinoyathinte Prapancham (1975), Prasadam (1977), and Kadakkai (1993). The last two books were turned into successful films starring Jayaram in the lead role.

Namboothiri has received many awards throughout his career, including the State Film Award for Best Actor three times.

Who was the first writer of the Jnanpith award in Marathi?

Winners of the First Janpith Award in various languages

8.OdiaGopinath Mohanty
9.MarathiVishnu Sakharam Khandekar
11.AssameseBirendra Kumar Bhattacharya

Who got a Jnanpith Award recently?

Namboothiri, Akkitham Achuthan

Jnanpith Award
First awarded1965
Last awarded2019
Most recent winnerAkkitham Achuthan Namboothiri

Who is the winner of the Sahitya Akademi Award for Malayalam?

"A writer from Tamil Nadu has won the Sahitya Akademi Award for his Malayalam work." The Hindu Chennai website is On the 1st of April, 2019. Shishi Tharoor and Madhusoodanan Nair have won the Sahitya Akademi Award. "Madhusoodanan Nair, a 79-year-old poet from Kerala, has been selected for the 2018 Sahitya Akademi Award for his collection of poems "Chandralekha" (Crescent Moon). He is known for his simple language and direct imagery. When asked about his selection team member Shishir Bhatia wrote on Twitter that he was "honoured to be associated with someone who has carved out a niche for himself through poetry".

The other members of the jury were novelist Ramola Gogoi, critic Sashi Bapat, and editor Anjali Moudgil. The award consists of a cash prize of Rs 50,000 and a citation.

Tharoor is known for her novels including "Sleeping with an Angel" and "A River Lost and Found", which have been made into successful films. She has also written several books for children.

Nair's awards include the Kerala State Film Award for Best Poet in 2007 and 2008. He has published seven collections of poems so far.

Who among the following are the Jnanpith award winners for Kannada?

The following is a list of eight Kannada authors who have received the Jnanpith prize.

  • Kuvempu.
  • D R Bendre.
  • Shivaram Karanth.
  • Maasthi Venkatesa Iyengar.
  • V.K.
  • U.R.
  • Girish Karnad.
  • Chandrashekar Kambar.

How many Jnanapeeta Prashasti winners are there in Karnataka?

Jnanpith, the top literary prize in the country, was established in 1965. Kannada has won seven of these honors during the course of the award's 36-year existence, an average of one every five years. The most recent win was last year when U.R. Ananthamurthy was honored for his novel Nanna Gella.

Karnataka has been the most successful state categorywise with four wins out of a total of 36 awards given out by the Indian government body that administers the prize. Mysore is the most popular city with three victories. Tumkur has two wins and Hassan has one victory.

The Jnanpith Award is given annually by the Jnanpith Foundation to people who have made significant contributions to literature or education. It is considered the highest literary honor in India. The winners receive Rs. 100,000 (about $1500) and a medal on behalf of the nation at a ceremony held in Delhi. The award is administered through a committee composed of members from various fields including literature, education, politics and journalism. The president of India is the chairperson of the committee.

In addition to the Jnanpith Award, there is another prize called the Raja Rao Award which is given by the Government of Karnataka to people who have excelled in any field of knowledge especially science and technology.

About Article Author

Marcia Tripp

Marcia Tripp is someone who loves to create. She has a background in fashion and is now exploring other creative fields like illustration and design. Her favorite thing to do is find ways to incorporate her love of fashion into her work as an artist so that it always looks fresh and innovative.

Related posts